Skip to main content

Last Run for Team Toshiba LSI: The Betsudai Marathon

translated by Brett Larner

At the 57th Beppu-Oita Mainichi Marathon [Betsudai] on Feb. 3, runners from Oita Prefecture will compete for the Ikenaka Cup, a trophy awarded each year to the top Oita finisher. Among the competitors will be 6 members of Oita-based Toshiba LSI's jitsugyodan team. For these 6 runners it will be their last run as teammates; Toshiba LSI has withdrawn its financial support and the team will be disbanded in March.

In this last run, Team Toshiba LSI entrants include Teppei Tsunesada, Kazuhiko Hirata, Keisuke Kihara, Tokio Miyazaki, Takanori Tagami and Masahiro Tsukamoto. "Once the team is disbanded these guys won't be able to keep practicing the way they have been, so in this last full marathon I want one of them to bring home the Ikenaga Cup," said the team's coach Kazuyuki Sato.

Tsunesada, Hirata and Miyazaki are in good shape and aiming to break 2:20. "The first 30 km will be critically important. How far can they go after that point? That is the question," commented Sato. Tsunesado gave his views, saying, "I want to run using everything I've learned over the years from my coaches and from more experienced runners." Hirata added, "This year is the last for us, so I want the Ikenaga Cup," with Miyazaki agreeing, "Betsudai will be the last time to run for any of us to run in this uniform. I want to do my best."

The winner of the 47th Beppu-Oita marathon, Akira Shimizu, is also scheduled to run but is injured and will probably not start. Other contenders for the Ikenaga Cup include Takayuki Tabe (Takeda High School, Teikkyo University), who finished 5th on the anchor leg of the Hakone Ekiden. Hiroshi Fujiwara (Bungo Ono Rikkyo) and Nihon Bunri University students are also entered.

In other Betsudai news, the 7 invited foreign athletes running Betsudai toured the race's course on Jan. 31. The group viewed the course by bus from the start at the Oita civic track, getting off at the 7 km point to run a section.

Australian Scott Wescott is making his 2nd appearance in Betsudai after running a PB here in 2005. "Right now it's summer in Australia. The Japanese winter is the perfect conditions for a marathon," Wescott told press. First-time Betsudai runner Ruggero Pertile of Italy added, "It looks like a fast course, but the wind is a concern so I'll have to run carefully. I'd like to break 2:10."

The Beppu-Oita Mainichi Marathon takes place Feb. 3. The 42.195 km course begins at the Oita civic track, runs to central Beppu, and returns to the Oita civic track.


Most-Read This Week

Yuta Shitara Breaks Japanese Men's Half Marathon National Record in Berlin Marathon Tuneup at Usti nad Labem Half

A week after his 28:55 at the Birell Prague Grand Prix 10 km and just eight days out from the Berlin Marathon, Yuta Shitara (Honda) made the great leap forward, taking 8 seconds off Atsushi Sato's 2007 half marathon Japanese national record, finishing 8th at the Czech Republic's Usti nad Labem Half Marathon.

Shitara is probably most well-known outside Japan for going through halfway under 62 minutes during his marathon debut at this year's Tokyo Marathon and still ending up with a 2:09:27, but he's been turning heads in Japan since his second year at Toyo University when he broke a stage record at the 2012 Hakone Ekiden and outkicked the U.S.A.'s Dathan Ritzenhein to finish in 1:01:48 at the NYC Half two months later, until this year the fastest time ever by a Japanese man on U.S soil.

Three weeks before Tokyo this year he ran a 1:01:19 PB at the Marugame Half. Many people would call that a solid tuneup three weeks out from a serious marathon, but eight days? In P…

Hattori Becomes Third-Straight Japanese Men's Sydney Marathon Winner

Following within 24 hours of Yuki Kawauchi's win at the BMW Oslo Marathon and Yuta Shitara's national record at the Usti nad Labem Half Marathon, Shota Hattori (Honda) made it an overseas hat trick for men from Japan's Saitama prefecture when he won the Sydney Marathon in 2:15:16. Having debuted at February's Nobeoka Nishi Nippon Marathon with a 2:14:19 for 2nd, Hattori outlasted Ethiopian Werkuneh Seyoum Aboye, Kenyan Sammy Kigen Korir (Kenya) and compatriot Ryoma Takeuchi (Hitachi Butsuryu) to become the third-straight Japanese men's Sydney champ, winning by a margin of 20 seconds over Aboye.

Congratulations to Shota Hattori, male winner of the Blackmores Marathon – with a time of 02:15:16. — SydneyRunFestival (@officialbsrf) September 17, 2017
No Japanese women made the podium in the marathon, but in the accompanying half marathon both the men's and women's races saw Japanese runners-up. In the men's …

Ayuko Suzuki Leaves for Altitude Training in Boulder Motivated for the Marathon

2017 London World Championships 5000 m and 10000 m runner Ayuko Suzuki (25, Japan Post) left from Narita Airport on Sept. 18 for altitude training in Boulder, Colorado.

Two days earlier at a half marathon in Czech Republic, Yuta Shitara (25, Honda), like Suzuki born in 1991, broke the 10-year-old Japanese men's half marathon national record in a time of 1:00:17. "It's a big motivation to see an athlete the same age as me doing something like that," she said. Showing her determination to be one of her generation's leaders, she added, "I'll be 28 [at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics], right in my prime mentally and physically. I want to run big too."

In the leadup to the Tokyo Olympics Suzuki has the marathon in sight along with the track. "I need to run a half marathon and marathon somewhere once to check [how well they suit me]," she said. "Coach and I will be talking about it." If everything goes according to plan, December's Sanyo …